Gratitude for What We Do Not Have

Shells in the Sands Series #1

Gemma Jiang, PhD
5 min readDec 22, 2023

The intention for this series is to share cherished thoughts and reflections of life in bite-size pieces. I have been an avid journal writer since my early teens, and most of the original writings were initially captured in my personal journal. I have chosen the most pertinent ones to share with the world through this series. This joy is similar to picking out beautiful shells while walking on a sandy beach.

The other day our mail carrier Chris was delivering mail when my husband Roger and I happened to be standing at the top of our driveway.

“Y’all do not have any mail today.” He stuck his head out of the car and declared.

“Oh, that is disappointing.” I exclaimed. I always look forward to bringing the mail in to open.

“Well, at least you do not have any bills to pay today.” Chris replied enthusiastically.

“That is so wise.” I thought to myself as Roger and I walked back down the driveway. Chris must have the “big data” on the mailing patterns to know that more bills than presents often arrive in mails, especially when it is not Christmas time.

This is another beautiful application of “gratitude for what I do not have”, a discipline I have been practicing lately.

--

--

Gemma Jiang, PhD

Senior Team Scientist, Colorado State University; Complexity Leadership Scholar and Practitioner; also at https://www.linkedin.com/in/gemma-jiang/