Coming Full Circle …

Holding Space for Professional Development Series #1

Gemma Jiang, PhD
3 min readJul 24, 2024
Photo by Frank Eiffert on Unsplash

After several years of deep diving into team science as a leadership practitioner, my approach to leadership development has come full circle.

Initially, I was against workshops, believing that removing participants from their contexts to learn abstract knowledge was often ineffective. Research supports this view. For example, Bersin’s The Training Measurement Book suggests that as much as 70% of job-relevant learning occurs on the job, 20% prior to formal training programs, and only 10% during training. Workshops may generate excitement, but without support to bridge the knowing-doing gap, conceptual knowledge often fades quickly. Additionally, many workshop instructors lack practical experience, relying solely on theoretical knowledge that fails to take root in real-world applications.

I much preferred meeting people in their local contexts for a more grounded experience. Through facilitating and consulting, I gained valuable in-the-trenches experience. However, I’ve since realized that without valuing leadership itself, there is no space for in-depth leadership work to thrive. This insight hit home when I found myself relegated to “glorified project management,” unable to engage in meaningful leadership work. I also observed that my facilitation efforts often only…

--

--

Gemma Jiang, PhD

Senior Team Scientist, Colorado State University; Complexity Leadership Scholar and Practitioner; also at https://www.linkedin.com/in/gemma-jiang/